In which I write about music, design, art & whatever else tickles my fancy.

Zack de la Rocha: ‘Digging for Windows’ (prod. by El-P)

Zack de la Rocha (the former voice of Rage Against the Machine, for the unitiated) just dropped his first track in a decade, with the aid of Run the Jewels’ El-P and Chavez’ Matt Sweeney. It’s named ‘Digging for Windows’ and is absolutely brutal.

Furthermore, it’s available as a free (as in free beer) BitTorrent download right here.

September 8thShare


  1. SolitudeM83
  2. Pretty — Majical Cloudz
  3. Lucien — Young Magic
  4. DJ — Masha Qrella
  5. Fall in Time — Teleman
  6. First World Problem — Unknown Mortal Orchestra
  7. Frankie Sinatra — The Avalanches
  8. Childhood — Gillbanks
  9. Door — Nice As Fuck
  10. Dust — Parquet Courts
  11. Everlasting Sigh — Moses Sumney
  12. Madeline — Yoni & Geti
  13. Moon — Beth Orton
  14. The Harbour — Throws
  15. Decks Dark — Radiohead
  16. Some Things Never Seem To Fucking Work — Kindness
  17. ‘Cause I’m a Man (HAIM Remix) — Tame Impala
July 12thShare

Trentemøller: ‘River in Me’ (feat. Jehnny Beth)

After three years, Trentemøller is finally giving us a glimpse of things to come, in the shape of ‘River in Me’ — the first single off his upcoming album, ‘Fixion’.

The track features Savages’ Jehnny Beth on vocals, and very fittingly lies in the musical borderlands between her and Trentemøller, with its postpunkish soundscapes, etching beats and aggressive synths. Furthermore, it sports a bone-chillingly brutal music video, directed by Swedish director/artist duo RITON EMENIUS.

‘Fixion’ drops on September 16th.

June 24thShare

Nice As Fuck: ‘Door’

Since forming their new band Nice As Fuck earlier this year, Jenny Lewis, Au Revoir Simone’s Erika Forster, and the Like’s Tennessee Thomas have been playing various gigs in the US, including a Bernie Sanders benefit.

Now, however, they have also decided to treat us to their their first actual single, titled ‘Door’ — a straight-up punky tune, which is super catchy to boot.

‘Door’ is available for the enjoyment of your ear holes on Spotify.

June 18thShare


  1. Blackbird — On Dead Waves
  2. Golden Lion — The Besnard Lakes
  3. Slip Into Nevermore — Prince Rama
  4. Magic Mountain — Pleasure Beach
  5. The Song They Play Every Night — Little Green Cars
  6. Doing It to Death — The Kills
  7. Waiting for the Thunder — Apothek
  8. Ocean Eyes (Astronomyy Edit) — Billie Eilish
  9. En Dejlig Aften — Katrine Stochholm
  10. Love + War — Banks & Steelz feat. Ghostface Killah
  11. Das Glitzen der Nacht — Trümmer
  12. $oroLUH
  13. Radio Silence — James Blake
  14. Intruder — Moderat
  15. HopelessnessANOHNI
  16. Hostage — Klangstof
  17. Spectre — Radiohead
May 26thShare

Oh, @radiohead … Why do you keep making me feel all those feelings you make me feel? #waterworks #heinekenmusichall #iamsterdam #immerseyoursoulinlove (at Heineken Music Hall)

May 22ndShare

Banks & Steelz: ‘Love + War’ (feat. Ghostface Killah)

After announcing their new joint project Banks & Steelz, Interpol’s Paul Banks and the Wu-Tang Clan’s RZA have just premiered their first single, ‘Love + War’, which features the talents of fellow Wu-Tang Clan member Ghostface Killah.

The track is a fast-paced affair, drawing on a multitude of inspirations, and everything points to a tremendously interesting album.

‘Love + War’ is available on Apple Music, where it just premiered on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 radio show.

May 19thShare

Benoit Paillé: ‘Alternatives Landscape’

In this series of iridescent photographs, Canadian artist Benoit Paillé introduces a foreign object, in the shape of a luminous square, to various environments, thus creating a whole new narrative.

I think that photography doesn’t represent reality, but creates it. In this project, a concrete form is integrated to the landscape and paradoxically gives to the image a surreal aspect. The whole thing is done in an empirical way, and is guided by a formal research both obsessive and demanding.
May 19thShare

Father John Misty: ‘Real Love Baby’

Aside from his recent — albeit hilarious — antics, involving Prius jingles and House of Cards theme lyrics, we haven’t heard any actual music from Josh Tillman’s alter ego Father John Misty for almost half a year.

No more waiting. Today, Tillman dropped a new track named ‘Real Love Baby’. However, it is not quite clear whether it is an actual, non-ironic single — or if he’s just taking the piss out of late-70’s soft rock. Regardless, the track is shamelessly catchy.

May 19thShare
…and true love waits in haunted attics.
May 8thShare